Asia Cup

Asia Cup's glorious records in stats

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 14:38 বৃহস্পতিবার, 24 আগস্ট, 2023

|| CF DESK ||

The Asia Cup will revert to 50-over format in the upcoming 16th edition, which will be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka in a hybrid model. Six nations including Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Nepal will compete for Asia’s most prestigious title. 

Cricfrenzy looks back at the Asia Cup records as Bangladesh prepares for the six-team event led by all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan which begins on August 30.

  • Bangladesh has competed in the Asia Cup since its second edition in 1986 which was hosted by Sri Lanka. Since, India did not take part in the tournament due to the tense relationship with the Lankan board, which opened the door for the former associate member, Bangladesh.


  • Bangladesh holds the record of hosting the Asia Cup for five times. In 1988, Bangladesh was given the chance for first time to host the competition. The Asia Cup was once more hosted in Dhaka in 2000 following a lengthy hiatus. The event was held in Bangladesh three more times: in 2012, 2014, and 2016. In addition, the United Arab Emirates has hosted the Asia Cup four times, including the inaugural competition.


  • Sri Lanka has competed in every one of the 15 events of the Asia Cup. Bangladesh, Pakistan, and India have played 14 times in Asia’s most prominent tournament.


  • India has won the most number of victories—seven—in the 15 tournaments that have been staged to far, followed by Sri Lanka with six victories and Pakistan with the final two victories. Bangladesh are still looking for their first title.


  • Sri Lanka batting legend Sanath Jayasuriya holds the record for scoring the most runs in the history of the Asia Cup. The left-handed explosive batter had amassed 1220 runs during his career in this tournament. In 25 ODIs between 1990 and 2008 with an average of 53.04 in the Asia Cup. The legendary player also bagged highest number of tons (Six). 


  • Another Sri Lankan Muttiah Muralitharan, the famous spinner, is the leading wicket-taker in the history of the Asia Cup. He took a total of 30 wickets during his appearances in 24 ODIs between 1995 and 2010. 


  • Virat Kohli, India's talismanic batter, owns the record for the most individual runs scored in an Asia Cup (ODI) innings. In 2012, he scored 183 runs against archrival Pakistan in Mirpur (Bangladesh). It is remains Kohli's highest ODI score.


  • Mushfiqur Rahim scored the highest number of runs for Bangladesh as he recorded 699 runs in 21 matches (ODI Format) with two hundred and equal number of half-centuries.


  • The record for the highest total in an Asia Cup match is held by Pakistan against Bangladesh in 2010. Pakistan posted a mammoth 385/7 in 50 overs against Bangladesh with Shahid Afridi’s sensational 124 off 60 balls. However, Bangladesh were restricted to 246/5 in 50 overs and defeated by a huge 139-run margin. Junaid Siddique scored the highest 97 runs for Bangladesh.

Asia Cup commences after a lot of drama and rifts between two giants India and Pakistan over the hosting rights. Sri Lanka and Nepal will face each other in the Asia Cup opener on August 30.

Bangladesh will begin their campaign with the first match against Sri Lanka on August 31 at the Pallekele International Stadium. The Tigers will fly to Pakistan for the second encounter against Afghanistan on September 3.