Connect with us

India-West Indies Series

Rohit to lead, Bishnoi gets maiden call as India announce squad for WI



ছবি : Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

On Wednesday, the All-India Senior Selection Committee named an 18 men squad for the ODI and T20I series against the West Indies. From February 6 to 16, Team India will play three ODIs at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, followed by a T20I series at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Ravichandran Ashwin has been dropped from both the T20 and ODI squads, while Rohit Sharma will lead India against the Caribbean team in a six-match white-ball series that begins on February 6 in Ahmedabad with three ODIs.

KL Rahul will be available from the second ODI onwards, while Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami have been rested from the series. Deepak Hooda has been selected for the ODI team.

After missing the South Africa tour due to a left hamstring injury, Rohit is ready to lead the team. The T20 matches against the Caribbean team will take place in Kolkata from February 16 to 20.

Ravi Bishnoi, a young leg-spinner, has received his first India call-up for the upcoming Twenty20 series, while Kuldeep Yadav, a seasoned wrist spinner, has also returned to the white ball set-up following knee surgery.

ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.