Trinbago Knight Riders sign up Russell, Pooran for CPL

Online Desk

Online Desk
Publish Date: 12:45 Tuesday, April 5, 2022

|| CF DESK ||

West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell is set to play for the Trinbago Knight Riders in the upcoming season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

Russell will be joined with white-ball skipper Kieron Pollard and his deputy and Nicholas Pooran. The franchise has also retained Sunil Narine making it a star-studded team before going into the draft.

Pollard and Narine aside, fast bowler Jayden Seales, left-arm finger spinner Akeal Hosein and top-order batter Tion Webster were also retained by Knight Riders.

CPL is set to kick off on August 30 and the final will be held at the Providence Stadium in Guyana on September 30.

This is the first time the CPL final will be held in Guyana and a long-term staging agreement means Guyana will also host the final in 2023 and 2024.

Pre-draft retentions and signings

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster