Connect with us

DPL 2023

Shanto, Rishad lead Abahani to top of DPL point table



Photo: Najmul Hossain Shanto, Walton

|| BSS ||

Abahani Limited ended the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) group phase, staying at the top of the point table following their five-wicket victory over City Club, thanks to a brilliant century of Najmul Hossain Shanto at BKSP-4 ground.

The most successful club of the DPL history lost only one game and collected 20 points from 11 matches, the same as defending champions Sheikh Jamal but topped the table, courtesy of better run rate. Legends of Rupganj stayed at third position with 16 points.

Leg-spinner Rishad Hossain claimed 4-29 as Abahani Limited bowled City Club out for 172 in 39.2 overs after they opted to bat first.

Opener Towfik Khan Tushar was the top-scorer with 79 off 51, hitting seven fours and six sixes but despite his whirlwind knock, City Club fell flat, largely due to the failure of the other batters.

However credit should go to Rishad who tightened the noose after coming into act.

Left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam and offspinner Mosaddek Hossain grabbed two wickets apiece to make the initial damage of City Club who could have given a shot to the super league phase had they won the game.

Abahani lost their two inform openers Anamul Haque Bijoy (1) and Naim Sheikh (0) inside two overs, that left the side to 7-2. If that raised a prospect of an upset, Shanto shrewdly diminished it, hitting an unbeaten 102 off 112, a knock studded with 12 fours and three sixes. Riding on his first century in this season's league, Abahani raced to the victory in 35.1 overs, making 174-5.

Mahmudul Hasan was the other notable scorer with 39. Robiul Haque kept the side in game with 4-38 before Shanto trumped him to script the side's victory.

Prime Bank vs Agrani Bank

Nasir Hossain hammered a century as Prime Bank Cricket Club recorded a comprehensive six-wicket win over Agrani Bank at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Agrani Bank put up 273-4 after being asked to bat first with Shadman Islam making team-high 62. Jahurul Islam Omee scored 58 and Usman Khan added 53.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam scalped 2-64 while Karim Janat and Allis Al Islam picked up one wicket apiece.

Thanks to Nasir's 98 ball-112 not out, laced with 12 fours and three sixes, Prime Bank reached the victory target in 46.4 overs with 277-4. Seniro batter Mushfiqur Rahim scored 53 to play a perfect foil to Nasir.

Prime Bank finished the group phase, staying at fourth position with 14 points after this victory. Agrani Bank had six points and would have to play the relegation league with Shinepukur Cricket Club and Dhaka Leopards.