Connect with us

Bangladesh- England Series

Rony returns to Bangladesh T20 side as three new faces in squad



Photo: Rony Talukdar, BCB

|| CF DESK ||

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announces the squad for the first and second matches of the T20 international series against England.

After seven and a half years, batter Rony Talukdar was called up for the T20I. In July 2015, the 32-year-old faced South Africa in his final and only T20I.

With 425 runs at an average of more than 35, he was the second-highest scorer in the recently finished Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

In addition to Rony, three other members of the team, batter Towhid Hridoy, pacer Rejaur Rahman Raja, and left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam earned their first-ever T20I calls-ups.

Hrioy finished third among all-time run scorers in the BPL with 403 runs. He had five fifty-sixes during the competition. With 17 wickets under his belt, Tanvir led the BPL in wicket-taking.

Yasir Ali, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Haque, Mosaddek Hossain, and Soumya Sarkar - were dropped from the squad.

The three-match T20 series starts in Chattogram on 9th March. The second and third games are scheduled in Dhaka. This will be the first bilateral T20 international series between the two teams.


Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Tanvir Islam