Connect with us

Bangladesh Sports Journalists Association

Sports stars sparkle under one roof at BSJA award night



Photo: All winners on the stage, Cricfrenzy


The sports stars of Bangladesh were gathered at the capital’s Shaheed Suhrawardi Indoor Stadium on Saturday evening, former and present sportspersons from different parts of the city as well as organizers, sponsor organizations and officials of various associations graced the award night program of Bangladesh Sports Journalists Association (BSJA).

From six o'clock in the evening, the premises of the indoor stadium turned into a meeting place for athletes, cricketers, footballers, organizers, sponsors and sports journalists.

State Minister for Sports Zahid Ahsan Russel was present as the chief guest and presided over the 46 awards of the last ten years.

Shakib Al Hasan, the world's best cricketer was the show stopper of the event. Former captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza joined the event around 8pm.

The most exciting part of the event was, when Mashrafe gave the ‘Sports person of the year 2017’ award to Shakib.


As Mushfiqur Rahim could not come to the event due to his son's illness, it was not possible to bring ‘Panchapandab’ on one stage. Apart from experienced cricketers like Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudulla Riyad, young cricketers like Litton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz shined in the BSJA Award Night.

Among the 46 awards, the 2020 award is quite interesting. The people of the country have passed the first two years during the Corona pandemic. The year 2020 was especially critical. Survival is important for everyone. The brave role of some people during the Corona period was much discussed.

Three such individuals and one organization were given President's Award by BSJA. They are cricketer Tamim, former woman cricket Arifa Jahan Bithi, Organizer Abdul Ghaffar, Ministry of Youth and Sports, Bangladesh Cricket Board.

In addition, the BSJA awarded the President's Award to the Bangladesh U-19 cricket team, which won the first World Cup for the nation.

Tiger pacer Mustafizur Rahman won the Sports person of the year in 2015 and Shakib was elected BSJA Sports Person of the Year in 2017, apart from this, Shakib also won the first runner-up award in 2021. Cricketer Mushfiqur Rahim was elected BSJA Sports Person of the Year in 2018. Besides, Mushfiqur Rahim also won the second runner-up award in 2014 and the first runner-up award in 2017.

Litton Das was awarded BSJA Sports Person of the Year for his outstanding performance in 2022.


Country’s best national cricket team captain Mashrafe won the President's Award for leading the ODI team at new peak in 2015, while Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) won the same award for hosting the T20 World Cup in 2014.