Connect with us

ICC Player of the Year

Shining ‘SKY’ named ICC T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022



Photo: Suryakumar Yadav

|| CF DESK ||

The winner of the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year is Suryakumar Yadav, who had one of the best years any player has had in the format's history.

SKY had a fantastic year, shattering a number of records and establishing a standard for the format unlike anything else. He finished the year as the top run-getter, scoring 1164 runs at an absurd strike-rate of 187.43, making him just the second T20Is batter to score more than 1000 runs in a calendar year.

Yadav easily hit the most sixes ever recorded in a calendar year in the history of the format with 68 during the course of the year. The Indian, who scored two hundreds and nine half-centuries, served as his team's primary batter throughout the year.

At the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, Yadav was at the top of his game, scoring three fifties in six innings and averaging close to 60. Notably, his strike-rate was 189.68, which was again very high.

After the multi-nation tournament, Suryakumar continued his outstanding year by scoring his second century in T20Is of the year in the bilateral series in New Zealand. He had already scored a century earlier in the year. Yadav also attained a career-high 890 rating points to take the top spot in the MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I Player Rankings.

There were quite a few standout performances from Yadav during the year. But perhaps his best came in Nottingham against one of the best white-ball teams in recent times - England - when he made his maiden T20I hundred, a stunning 117 off 55 balls.

From 31/3 in a run chase of 216, Yadav lifted India with his outrageous stroke-making, giving the visitors a chance at chasing down the target. His dismissal ended India's hopes of a famous victory, but he put the team within touching distance of what would have been an incredible win.

Meanwhile, Australia's Tahlia McGrath saw off competition from dashing India opener Smriti Mandhana, Pakistan's ever-reliable all-rounder Nida Dar and New Zealand captain Sophie Devine on her way to the coveted ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year Award.