Connect with us

Afghanistan Cricket

Rashid Khan named new Afghanistan T20I captain



Photo: Rashid Khan, AFP

|| CF DESK ||  

Rashid Khan has been appointed as Afghanistan T20I Captain, succeeding senior all-rounder Mohammad Nabi, who stepped down after the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.

The ACB Chairman, Mr. Mirwais Ashraf, expressed his desire for Rashid Khan to be named captain of the Afghanistan National Team for the T20I format.

“Rashid Khan is a massive name in Afghanistan Cricket. He has colossal experience of playing the format around the world which will help him take the team to a new level in the format,” said Mirwais Ashraf.

“Rashid Khan has the experience of leading AfghanAtalan in all three formats before and we are happy to have him as our skipper for the T20I format again. I am sure he will come out on top and will bring more glories to the nation” he added.

Rashid Khan is also delighted to take the leadership role and considers this a massive honor for him to be granted such a big responsibility to lead Afghanistan's National Team in the T20Is.

"Captaincy is a huge responsibility. I have the experience of leading my country before, there is a great bunch of guys with whom I have a good understanding and feel pretty comfortable. We will try to stick together, will work hard to put things on the right track and bring pride and joy to our country and nation" Rashid Khan said.

Rashid Khan has so far represented Afghanistan in 74 T20I matches and has 122 scalps to his name in the format, which makes him the third leading wicket-taker in the format behind Tim Southee (134) and Shakib Al Hassan (128).

He has also been in very high demand in franchise cricket, playing 361 T20 matches for 15 different teams around the globe from 2015 onwards and has bagged a mammoth 491 wickets which makes him the 2nd bowler behind Dwayne Bravo (614) with the most wickets in the format.

Afghanistan National Team is set to tour UAE in February where they will take on the hosts in three T20Is, which will be Rashid Khan’s first tour as Afghanistan’s skipper after 2019.