Connect with us


Adelaide Strikers claim first WBBL title



Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

The Adelaide Strikers won the first Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) title with a 10-run win over the Sydney Sixers at the North Sydney Oval, on Saturday.

Chasing 148 runs, the Sixers were eventually dismissed for 137 and Adelaide, who was in the final for the third time in three years, lifted the WBBL trophy for the first time in its history. 

The Sixers struggled early in their run chase to be 4-16 at one stage, with Alyssa Healy (1) and Ashleigh Gardner (duck) making no impression against the Strikers' bowling attack.

Deandra Dottin took 2 wickets off four overs with a double-wicket maiden in the Sixers' run chase.

Earlier,  Strikers' openers Katie Mack (31 off 26) and Wolvaardt (15 off 16) made an excellent start, putting on 51 from the first 6.2 overs before falling in successive overs.

Dottin made an unbeaten 52 runs from 37 deliveries, including two sixes and two fours in her final three overs, as Adelaide finished their innings 147-5.

England spinner Ecclestone picked up two wickets and was the standout bowler for the Sixers.