Connect with us

T20 World Cup

Taskin steals thunderstorm at cloudy Hobart



Photo: AFP

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh won their first-ever game in a Twenty20 World Cup Super 12 Monday, with Taskin Ahmed taking 4-25 as the Netherlands imploded early and never recovered, losing by nine runs.

Taskin was the match's hero, taking four wickets, including two in the opening over and his efforts helped the Tigers emerge from the gloom of one defeat after another.

"It's a good win for us and we needed it. We played well as a team, happy to have contributed," said a delighted Taskin during a post-match presentation.

The Dutch got off to a bad start in the run chase, losing two wickets in the first two deliveries to Taskin, and then sank to 15-4 in freezing conditions in Hobart, putting them on the back foot.

Taskin removed Vikramjit Singh and Bas de Leede with the first two balls of the innings to put himself on a hat-trick.

The 27-year-old missed out on the opportunity, but he stayed focused and posted his best figure of the competition.

Taskin told the media on the island in the Tasman Sea that he resisted being greedy while standing on the hat-trick opportunity.

“I had a very basic plan [bowling the third delivery]. I had done the first two on length and tried to get some swing which did happen. I tried not to be greedy to be honest. A bad delivery could have turned into a boundary and cost the team,” said Taskin.

Veteran Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan has played in every edition of the World Cup since its inception in 2007 and this was his first Super 12 victory.

"It was an important win, I've played all editions but haven't won and that was on the back of my mind," he said.

"Taskin has been a good bowler for us, he has the experience and pace. Most of the fielders in our team are agile and quick, in the field we can save five to 10 runs, and that could be the big difference" he added.

The victory was a huge advantage for the Tigers with two points desperately needed in a group that features heavyweights India, Pakistan and South Africa.