Connect with us

Australia- New Zealand Series

NZ name ODI squad for Australia series



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Matt Henry has been recalled to the New Zealand ODI team for the three-match ODI series against Australia, which begins on September 6.

New Zealand has picked a 15-man ODI team for the three ODIs in Cairns on September 6th, 8th, and 11th, with Matt Henry recovering from rib injury.

Henry's addition is the sole alteration from the lineup that recently won the ODI series in the West Indies, their first series victory in the format on Caribbean soil.

Ish Sodhi did not make the squad, with Mitchell Santner and Michael Bracewell filling in as spin-bowling all-rounders.

“It’s a great rivalry we have with Australia; it’s always a huge occasion for the fans, and the team really look forward to it,” New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who returns to lead the side after missing the final two ODIs against West Indies, said.

“You grow up watching the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series and remembering the great battles, so to be part of another chapter is pretty special.

Kyle Jamieson, who is nursing a back injury and Adam Milne, who is out with an achilles injury, weren’t considered for selection.

Ben Sears, who is yet to debut in ODIs, retained his place in the ODI squad.

The three-match ODI series will be a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

New Zealand ODI squad: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears, Tim Southee