Connect with us

South Africa Cricket

Maharaj named SA men’s cricketer of the Year



Photo: Courtesy

|| ICC ||

Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka received top honours at the CSA Awards held virtually on Sunday, 14 August, bagging the Men’s and Women’s Cricketer of the Year respectively. They were also recipients for the Men and Women’s Players’ Player of the Year.

Both the players enjoyed a terrific 2021-22 seasons. Maharaj was splendid in the whites for South Africa, the series against Bangladesh being one of the biggest highlights of his year. In consecutive Tests, he bagged seven-wicket hauls to demolish the Tigers and inflict innings defeats.

Khaka, on the other hand, was a vital cog in South Africa's run into the semi-finals of the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup earlier this year. She finished the tournament as the joint fourth-highest wicket-taker with 12 scalps in eight games.

In the men's awards, Kagiso Rabada took home the Test Player of the Year, Aiden Markram was named the T20I Player of the Year, and Janneman Malan bagged the ODI Player of the Year.

Marco Jansen, who broke onto the scene during the memorable Test series against India, was the International Newcomer of the Year.

The ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2021 Lizelle Lee, who recently announced her retirement from international cricket, was awarded Women's T20 International Player of the Year. Laura Wolvaardt, who was South Africa's leading run-getter at the 2022 World Cup with 433 runs, was the ODI Player of the Year.

The explosive David Miller was awarded the Fans’ Player of the Year.