Connect with us

Women World Cup

Bangladesh to host 2024 women’s T20 World Cup



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

The ICC has announced that four women's tournaments will take place in four years, starting with the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024, which will take place in Bangladesh.

The host nations for every major ICC Women's tournament between 2024-2027 have been confirmed during the ongoing ICC Annual Conference in Birmingham.

This will be the first time that Bangladesh will be hosting a major ICC women's tournament and the second time it will be hosting a T20 World Cup. The tournament will be held between September-October, and comprise 10 teams playing 23 matches.

“Getting the hosting rights for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 is fantastic news for Bangladesh cricket. On behalf of the BCB, I take this opportunity to thank the ICC Board for awarding this major women’s event to Bangladesh during a time when the women’s game is flourishing and expanding,” Bangladesh Cricket Board CEO Nizam Uddin Chowdhury said.

“Especially, this will be a watershed moment for women's cricket in Bangladesh as the event will inspire little girls and aspiring female cricketers to dream big. Our women have made steady strides in international cricket and this world event at home will be an ideal opportunity to show that we can compete against the best. Bangladesh has a rich tradition of hosting high-profile ICC events and I have no doubts that we will deliver a world-class tournament in 2024” he added.

A year later, the action will move to India for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2025. The tournament will be India's fifth hosting an ICC Women's tournament, with four tournaments so far being ICC Women's World Cups. Eight teams will compete in the tournament, making up a total of 31 matches.

The next event on the calendar will be the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2026, which will be hosted by England in June. This will be the first time the tournament will be held in England. The number of teams will also increase from 10 to 12, with a total of 33 matches to be played.

The final event of the cycle will be hosted by Sri Lanka, subject to them qualifying for the tournament. The inaugural edition of the Women's ICC Champions Trophy will be based on the T20 format. It will be held in February 2026, with six teams competing for the trophy across 16 matches.