Connect with us

Sri Lanka- Australia Series

SLC announces T20I squad for home series against Australia



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has chosen an 18-man squad for the three-match T20I series against Australia, which begins on June 7 at home.

Dasun Shanaka will captain a team that includes a lot of youthful players and a couple of players that had a solid season in the IPL 2022 season that just ended.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa will be expected to play at No. 3 after impressive outings for Punjab Kings (PBKS) while Wanindu Hasaranga finished with 26 wickets, the second-highest in the league.

For the Lankans, Maheesh Theekshana is a promising potential, while Matheesha Pathirana, termed 'Baby Malinga,' will likely be handed opportunities with an eye on this year's T20 World Cup.

The trip will take place in the midst of a crisis in Sri Lanka, and rumours have surfaced that certain players are hesitant to come owing to security concerns.

T20I squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan