Connect with us


Jayawardena, Pollock, Brittin to be inducted into ICC Hall of Fame





Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

The International Cricket Council (ICC) inducted Sri Lankan legendary cricketer Mahela Jayawardena, former South Africa all-rounder Shaun Pollock and ex England batter Janette into the ICC Hall of Fame.

The legends will be formally inducted by ICC Hall of Famer, Sir Clive Lloyd before the final match between New Zealand and Australia that gets underway at the Dubai International Stadium.

Jayawardene was the key member of the team that won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2014 and reached four other major ICC finals.

"I am thrilled to have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. It's a very special honour to follow in the footsteps of legends Sanga and Murali from Sri Lanka and so many other great cricketers of the past,” said Jayawardene.

 "I am very grateful for the recognition and would like to enjoy and share the moment with all those that have helped me on my journey, including my family, friends, coaches, team-mates and, most importantly, Sri Lanka cricket fans who passionately supported and inspired me during my career," he added.

Pollock was one of the finest bowling all-rounders and was the first player to achieve the 3,000 runs and 300 wickets double in both Test and ODI cricket.

"I would like to thank the ICC for this recognition of my career. It's an amazing honour to be included in the Hall of Fame alongside the very illustrious company that has already been inducted,” Pollock said

“It's a real cherry on the top or maybe even a bookend of what has been a thoroughly enjoyable cricketing experience and I'd like to thank my teammates who played such a massive part along the journey" he added.