Connect with us

T20 World Cup Australia

Bangladesh to play directly in next T20 WC’s super 12s





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

Australia's win over West Indies has ensured Bangladesh will directly play in the Super 12s on the next edition of the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia.

Kieron Pollard's side lost their last match in Abu Dhabi by 8 wickets on Saturday. Australia opener David Warner smashed an unbeaten 89 to take his him edge closer to the semi-finals.

Two-time world champions West Indies will now play in the qualifying round for the first time. On the other hand, for the first time, Bangladesh was able to avoid this round.

Even though Bangladesh had equal points before the Windies-Australia match, the Caribbeans were ahead by a fraction. After losing, they went to No. 10 with 226 points. Bangladesh has risen to number eight with 232 points in ICC T20 ranking.

Afghanistan has also been assured of Super 12 in the next edition. At the moment they are at number seven with 234 points. Even if Afghans loses to New Zealand, they will be ahead of the West Indies.

England, Pakistan, India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are set for the main stage, while Sri Lanka, Scotland and Namibia will play along with West Indies in the qualifying stage of 2022 T20 World Cup.