Connect with us

T20 World Cup

BCB announces squad for T20 World Cup





Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has finally announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled to take place in Oman and United Arab Emirates (UAE) from October 17 to November 14.

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu revealed the squad to the media on Thursday.

Mahmudullah will lead the side as they begin their campaign in the first round, leg-spinner Aminul Islam and pacer Rubel Hossain have been named as standby.

Bangladesh squad comprises of many experienced cricketers like captain Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim to lead from the front as seamer Mustafizur Rahman aims to put together another impressive ICC tournament.

Mustafiz took nine wickets at 16.6 at the 2016 T20 World Cup and was the third-highest wicket-taker at the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Veteran opener Tamim Iqbal opt out of the tournament to give the new players the chance to take part in the format. Tamim was the top run-scorer (295 at 73.75) in the 2016 edition. Openers Naim Sheikh and Liton Das will both be out to impress in his place.

Bangladesh will have to play the qualifiers before they get the ticket to the main event. The Tigers will have to either win the group or at least manage to be runners-up in order to make it through the first round.

Bangladesh will start their T20 World Cup Qualifiers campaign against Scotland. The match will be played at the Oman Cricket Academy ground in Muscat on October 17. The Tigers will face Oman and Papua New Guinea on October 19 and 21 respectively.

Bangladesh squad:

Mahmudullah (C), Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed


Aminul Islam and Rubel Hossain