Connect with us

Bangladesh Cricket

Shoriful, Taskin and Liton join Shakib-Mushfiq in central contracts for all three formats





Photo: AFP

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh pacers Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam as well as wicket-keeper batsman Liton Das have been given central contracts by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) for all three formats, joining Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim.

The annual central contracts were handed to a total of 24 players, with ODI captain Tamim Iqbal and T20I captain Mahmudullah missed out on central contracts for the first time in all three formats.

Along with Tamim, off-spinners Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Taijul Islam have secured central contracts for the Test and ODI teams.

Mominul Haque, the Test captain, has central contracts, as do batters Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shadman Islam, and Saif Hasan, while Abu Jayed Rahi and Ebadot Hossain have contracts for red-ball cricket.

The players who are centrally contracted for the ODI and T20I teams are fast bowlers Mustafizur Rahman and Saifuddin, as well as Mahmudullah and Afif Hossain.

Batters Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, and Shamim Hossain join bowlers Mahedi Hasan and Nasum Ahmed on the list of players who are centrally contracted for only the T20I team.

Nurul Hasan, the wicketkeeper, is also on the list of centrally contracted T20I players.

However, Mohammad Mithun and offspinner Nayeem Hasan are the only batsmen and offspinners who have not been granted central contracts.