Connect with us


Multan Sultans win maiden title of PSL beating Peshawar Zalmi



Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

Multan Sultans won their maiden Pakistan Super League (PSL) title by beating 2017 champion Peshawar Zalmi by 47 runs in the final on Thursday. Half-centuries from Sohaib Maqsood and Rilee Rossouw, with Imran Tahir's three-wicket, helped them win and defend the target of 206.

In response, Peshawar Zalmi collected 159 losing 9 wickets with only Kamran Akmal's 36 and Shoaib Malik's 48. Zalmi's innings got off to a good start, however, two wickets in seven balls, including Akmal's, shook the chase. With a 66-run partnership, Rovman Powell and Malik attempted to steady the innings. Malik was returned by Tahir, afterward, Zalmi lost their next four wickets for 14 runs.

Besides Tahir picked up three important wickets and Imran Khan, Blessing Muzarabani took two wickets each which helped them to seal the victory.

Batting first, Multan went off to a flying start as the opener skipper Rizwan and Shan Masood added 68 runs for the opening wicket. Peshawar speedster Mohammad Imran broke the partnership by returning Masood (37) and dismissed skipper Rizwan for 30.

Then, Maqsood and Rossouw paired up thereafter and kept the scoreboard ticking. They batted till the 19th over and stitched a 98-run stand for the third wicket. Rossouw was returned by Sameen Gul, after completing his half-century.

Khushdil Shah (15) hit back-to-back sixes in the final over while Maqsood slammed a boundary to end the innings.