Connect with us

Common Wealth Games

Bangladesh women's to play qualifiers for Commonwealth games



Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

A total of eight teams will participate in the 2022 Commonwealth Games which will be held in Birmingham, England. Seven teams have already secured their places to participate in the event. Bangladesh women’s cricket team set to play the qualifiers for the last and final place.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) released a list of the seven teams in a statement on Monday (April 26th). The teams are England, Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies and Pakistan.

According to ICC rules, the top six teams in the T20I rankings will advance to the Birmingham Commonwealth Games. Under that rule, Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa, the West Indies and Pakistan have secured their places and England got the place being the host of the event.

Meanwhile, the Bangladesh women's cricket team is at number 9 in the ICC T20 rankings. That's why Bangladesh Women’s team has to play in the qualifying round to get their ticket in the Commonwealth Games.

Apart from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland and Scotland will have to play in the qualifying round. The eighth team will be finalized by January 31, 2022.

All matches of this year's event will be held at Edgbaston Cricket Ground. The T20 format tournament will start on July 28, 2022. The final will be held on August 8.

Cricket has returned in the Commonwealth Games after a long time. The first time tournament was held in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, South Africa became the men's champion in that event.