Connect with us

NCL TIER 2 R2: Gazi shines for Barishal as Pinak hits century against Metro





Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

The second round of Bangabandhu National Cricket League (NCL) has started today (Monday). Four teams are fighting in two matches of the second Tier. Among them, Rajshahi Division is the opponent of Barisal Division at BKSP ground in Savar. In another match of the same Tier, Chittagong Division and Dhaka Metro are fighting at Cox's Bazar.

Barishal Division Vs Rajshahi Division

Barishal opted to bat first but faced extreme batting disaster. Rahjshahi's two spinners Sanjamul Islam and Taijul Islam were bowled out for 82 in just 29 overs. Moin Khan scored maximum 18 runs for Barishal. Sanjamul took 4 wickets for just 18 runs. And Taijul took 4 wickets for 39 runs. Fast bowler Mohar Sheikh took the remaining two wickets.

Rajshahi also faced batting disaster in reply. The team led by Jahrul Islam could not bat even 50 overs in their first innings before the magic of Sohag Gazi of Barishal. Gazi's 6 wickets Rajshahi was all out for just 151. Junaid Siddiqui was run out for the highest 43 for the team.

At the end of the day, Barishal lost their first wicket when 4 runs on board of the second innings. Taijul returned opener Saikat Ali. Barishal ended the first day by trailing Rajshahi by 46 runs.

Chattogram Division Vs Dhaka Metro

Pinak Ghosh of Chittagong has spread the light in another match of the second Tier. Dhaka Metro won the toss, invited Chattogram to bat first. Chattogram lost the first wicket on 20 runs. Then Mahamudul Hasan Joy and captain Muminul Haque failed to score big runs.

However, the other batsmen of the team failed but Pinak did not make a mistake to complete his century. The wicketkeeper-batsman is unbeaten on 137 runs at the end with 13 fours and 2 sixes. Besides, Yasir Ali was dismissed for 49 runs. Shahadat Hossain unbeaten for 32 runs as Pinak's partner.

At the end of the first day, Chittagong lost 4 wickets and scored 281 runs. Arafat Sunny took two wickets for Dhaka Metro. Besides, Shahidul Islam and Abu Haider Rony took one wicket each.