Connect with us

Bangladesh Cricket

Skipper Mahmudullah sails his team to the destination





Photo: BCB

|| Desk Report ||

The cricketers in the preliminary squad for the ODIs in the West Indies series have been divided into two factions in the first warm-up match in BKSP as Riyad XI left the field with a victory against Tamim XI. The experienced cricketer was the captain who won BCB’s Presidents Cup and Bangabandhu T20 Cup, after the country's cricket began in the midst of the Corona outbreak.

Mahmudullah's XI team won the first warm-up match by 5 wickets before the start of the ODI series. The team comfortably reached the target of 162 runs in 36. 5 overs.

“Alhamdulillah the preparation is good. We are quite positive about this series. I think we can gift some good cricket. I am hopeful that we will win the series In Sha Allah.” said skipper Mahmudullah after the match.

However, Shakib Al Hasan could not comeback strongly even though the team won the match. The world's best all-rounder returned to the stand with only 9 runs due to an unfortunate run out. However, Mahmudullah has played a big role in taking the team to the port of victory. The swashbuckling batsman was unbeaten on 51 off 64 balls with four boundaries.

Saifuddin took the wicket of Naeem Sheikh, who scored a century for Beximco Dhaka in the domestic T20 tournament returned to the pavilion for 43 runs from 52 balls with 7 fours. Mushfiqur Rahim has scored 28 runs in 24 balls.  

Tamim XI’s Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed and Sheikh Mehedi Hasan took one wicket each.

Earlier, Tamim XI was bowled out for 161 by tremendous bowling of Hasan Mahmud. Afif Hossain scored the highest 35 runs. Hasan took 4 wickets with 21 runs. Shariful and Al Amin took 2 wickets each.

The second warm-up match will be on January 18. Selectors Minhazul Abedin Nannu and Habibul Bashar will watch the matches from the field. They will decide the final team of the ODI series based on the performance of the players in the two matches


Tamim XI: 161 all out in 36.2 overs (Tamim 26, Liton 2, Shant 26, Mithun 18, Soumya 24, Afif 35, Sheikh Mehdi 1, Saifuddin 8 *, Nasum 2, Rubel 0, Mustafiz 9) (Hasan 4 / 21, Shariful 2/26, Al Amin 2/32)

Mahmudullah XI: 162/5 in 36.5 overs (Naeem 43, Yasir 2, Shakib 9, Mushfiq 27, Mahmudullah 51, Mosaddeq 3, Miraj 13) (Saif 1/29, Nasum 1/29, Mustafizur 1/36, Sheikh Mehdi 1/16)