Connect with us


Coronavirus impact on Cricket tournament worldwide





Photo: Image- Getty

For the first time since World War II all events all over the world has been postponed. Because of the coronavirus pandemic sports event all over the world will be stand still for next couple of more months.

So whats at stake at the game, how much it will be affected. Lets see the major tournament and series that are scheduled for the remainder of this year, much of which is set to be affected by the pandemic.
Indian Premier League

Dates: Postponed until April 15

Teams participating: 8

The IPL, was meant to start on March 29, now pushed back by the BCCI to April 15 after the Indian government put a ban on social gatherings in addition to restricting entry to the country. The IPL, which started its journey from 2008, has grown to become the most flourishing cricketing event, and the best cricketers around the world participate in it. The BCCI have planned and  internally discussed to stretch the schedule to as far as first week of June - the final was slotted for May 24 initially - to hold a complete event subject to a nod from the Indian government.

Also with this the fate of the Women's T20 Challenge, featuring the top women's cricketers from around the world, which the BCCI had said that they will have four teams this season. The competition, which had started as a one-off exhibition affair in 2018, has now grown in stature and is a likely precursor to the women's IPL.
World Test Championship

Dates: Started in July 2019, currently held up

Teams participating: 9

The WTC got started immediately after the 2019 men's 50-over World Cup. A tournament to be contested between the top nine Test-playing countries, the WTC was designed by the ICC as a marquee event finishing with in a final between the top two teams on the table in June 2021 at Lord's. A maximum of 120 points per series is at stake with each team playing six series - three at home and three away - in the period. However, while some teams have played a fair share of their six series, some teams are yet to get started, and many series were scheduled for the rest of this year.

The following series are likely to be affected in case no cricket is played in 2020

March: Sri Lanka v England - two Tests

June: England v West Indies - three Tests

July-August: England v Pakistan - three Tests

July: West Indies v South Africa - two Tests

July: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka - three Tests

August: Bangladesh v New Zealand - two Tests

November-December: New Zealand v West Indies - three Tests

December-January (2021): Australia v India - four Tests

December-January (2021): New Zealand v Pakistan - two Tests

ODI League

Dates: Scheduled to start on May 1

Teams participating: 13

Alongside the WTC, the ICC had also approved the ODI League, to be played between May 1 this year and March 31, 2022, which would serve as a qualification pathway for the 2023 men's World Cup, which will be played in India. There would be 13 teams, including the 12 Test-playing countries along with the Netherlands, that play eight series over a two-year cycle on a home-and-away basis against mutually agreed opponents.

The ICC is yet to finalise the playing conditions for the league, which it is scheduled to do during the upcoming ICC Board meetings, scheduled over teleconference later this month.

India (as hosts) plus the seven next-highest-ranked sides in the league as on March 31, 2022 will qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup, while the bottom five will get a second chance to make the grade through a qualifier.
Asia Cup

Scheduled for September

Teams participating: 6

This six-team event, contested by Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, is scheduled for September. It will be played in the T20 format with the PCB playing host nation this year. Later this month, the Asian Cricket Council is likely to finalise the venue for the Asia Cup.

Men's T20 World Cup

Dates: October 18 to November 15

Teams participating: 16

After the successful organization of the women's event, Australia is set to play hosts to the men's T20 World Cup later this year too. Last November, six teams - Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Ireland, Namibia, Scotland and Oman - have made into top six of the qualifiers. Those six, along with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, will contest in the qualifying stage of the T20 World Cup. The top four from that will progress to join the top-eight teams to contest in the Super 12s stage, where the teams will be split into two groups.
ICC Women's ODI Championship

Dates: Started in 2017 and scheduled to end in 2020

Teams participating: 8

The championship is the pathway through which the top four teams on the points table will qualify for the 2021 Women's ODI World Cup, which will be played between February 6 and March 7 in New Zealand. New Zealand qualify as hosts. The remaining three slots will be filled after a qualifier round, which is scheduled for July in Sri Lanka.

Australia, defending champions England, and South Africa have already booked their berths based on the points they have earned in the Championship. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies are the other teams in the fray. Based on the points earned so far, India and Pakistan have the opportunity to qualify directly.

The following ODI Championship series are likely to be affected in case no cricket is played in 2020

March: South Africa v Australia

Unscheduled: New Zealand v Sri Lanka

Unscheduled: Pakistan v India