Connect with us


Dhaka crowned champion of NCL



Photo: NCL

|| CF DESK ||

Dhaka Division secured the championship in the ongoing National Cricket League 2023-24 by defeating Sylhet Division by 52 runs in the fifth-round match at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Sunday.

Shuvagata Hom claimed 4-50, and Nazmul Islam Apu finished with 3-56 as Dhaka bowled out Sylhet for 157 runs in their second innings on the final day, confirming their title with one match to spare. Sylhet's skipper Zakir Hasan top-scored with 44 runs as they resumed their innings at 39-4 on the last day.

With this victory, Dhaka now has 37 points from their five tier-1 games, while Dhaka Metro, Sylhet, and Rangpur have 14, 11, and 10 points, respectively. Dhaka has remained unbeaten in the tournament, winning four games and drawing one. This marks Dhaka's seventh NCL title overall, with their last triumph in the 2021-22 season.

In their earlier performances, Dhaka posted 266 runs in the first innings before bowling out Sylhet for 211 runs. Dhaka then scored 154 runs in their second innings, setting Sylhet a target of 210 runs to win. Mahidul Islam Ankon, who scored a brilliant 106 in the first innings, was named the player of the match.

Meanwhile, the tier-1 match between Rangpur and Dhaka Metro in Khulna ended in a draw on the same day. Dhaka Metro, chasing a target of 300 runs, reached 113-4 before both teams agreed on a stalemate.

Rangpur, resuming at 11-2 overnight, were bowled out for 159 runs in their second innings, with Akbar Ali making 97 runs. Akbar had earlier scored 179 runs in Rangpur's first innings (435). Arif Ahmed took 6-76 for Dhaka Metro, who had made 295 runs in their first innings.