Connect with us

World Test Championship

Australia confirms squad for WTC final against India



Photo: ICC

|| CF DESK ||

Australia have finalised their 15-player squads for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship final at The Oval.

Australia trimmed their original 17-player squad by two to land on the 15 players that will take on India in south London from June 7.

Experienced seamer Josh Hazlewood remains in the mix to play against India after he was named in Australia's finalised 15-player group.

There had been reports suggesting Michael Neser may replace Hazlewood as the latter faces a race to reach peak fitness for the June 7 start date for the match at The Oval after battling side soreness in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Australia's standby players include all-rounder Mitchell Marsh and Matt Renshaw, while UK-based Australians Neser and Sean Abbott will also play a role in the team's preparations when they reach London in early June.

Back-up keeper Josh Inglis and Nathan Lyon's understudy Todd Murphy have been included in the final squad.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Standby players: Mitch Marsh, Matthew Renshaw