Connect with us


Shakib-Miraz are players who can do everything, says Rony



Photo: Cricfrenzy, Rony Talukdar, Shakib

|| CF DESK ||

Mohammedan Sporting Club (MSC) had a dismal league run in the Dhaka Premier League (DPL), but they shifted gears in the middle and pulled everything together to help the team avoid relegation. Opener Rony Talukdar believes Shakib al Hasan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s inclusion in the side helped them to turn things around.

Mohammedan, who were winless in the first five matches and collected just one point thanks to a washed-out at one point. However, they turned things around after Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and other national players joined the side.  

MSC claimed six straight wins in the DPL, and the traditional powerhouse of the country moved to the fifth position qualifyng for the super league with 13 points from 11 matches. 

“There will be wins and losses for the team. This is commonplace. Our team tried to put in effort, but it didn't work out. However, I wouldn't say they were lacking anything, aimed to play well and win games" Rony told Cricfrenzy during an interview.

“After Shakib bhai, Miraz and I joined the side the whole scenario changed. Shakib matter how much I say about him, it won't be enough. After he came, the team’s mindset and tactics changed,” he said.

Rony said that players like Shakib and Miraz can provide support from all dimensions and their presence in the team altered their situation.

“Miraj, Shakib can do three things together…batting, bowling and fielding... they are players who can do all three. Shakib can perform thrice the amount work of an average player. After their arrival, they helped the team a lot and played a big role in winning the match,” he added.

The super league phase of the ongoing Dhaka Premier League (DPL) will begin on May 1 and continue till 14 May.

The group stage of the tournament ended on Monday with six clubs qualifying for the super league and three clubs battling in the relegation zone.

Mohammedan Sporting Club, Abahani Limited, Legends of Rupganj, Prime Bank Cricket Club, Gazi Group Cricketers and Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club are the six teams who have qualified to play in the Super League.