Connect with us

IPL 2023

IPL 2023: Teams, captains and key players



Photo: IPL captains

|| AFP ||

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League begins on Friday when title holders Gujarat Titans face Chennai Super Kings in the world's largest cricket stadium in Ahmedabad.

Before the T20 matches begin, here's a breakdown of the 10 teams in the world's richest cricket tournament that runs until May 28.

Mumbai Indians

Captain: Rohit Sharma

IPL 2020 Final: Peerless Rohit Sharma Reveals Reason Behind Mumbai Indians'  Unprecedented Success

Top foreign players: Cameron Green (Australia all-rounder), Tim David (Singapore-born Australian batsman), Jofra Archer (England fast bowler)

Key Indian players: Ishan Kishan (opening batsman) and Suryakumar Yadav, the world's top-ranked T20 batter famed for his all-round hitting and unconventional strokeplay

Mumbai paid $1.06 million for Archer in the 2022 auction but the pace ace missed the season because of an elbow injury.

The five-times champions brought Green for $2.11 million after an intense bidding war in the auction ahead of this season.

IPL record: Champions 5 times (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020), runners-up 2010

Chennai Super Kings

Captain: Mahendra Singh Dhoni

MS Dhoni Speaks About His IPL Future After Chennai Super Kings Win Fourth  Title | Cricket News

Top foreign players: Moeen Ali (England all-rounder), Devon Conway (New Zealand batsman) and Ben Stokes (England all-rounder)

England Test skipper Stokes, an IPL regular and hot property, was bought by Chennai for $1.96 million in the December auction but will only play a a batter.

Key Indian players: Ravindra Jadeja (bowling all-rounder) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (batsman)

IPL record: Champions four times, (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021), runners-up six times (2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2019, 2022)

Delhi Capitals

Captain: David Warner

IPL 2022 - Delhi Capitals - David Warner calls on top order to score big as  season approaches business end | ESPNcricinfo

Top foreign players: Lungi Ngidi (South Africa fast bowler), Mitchell Marsh (Australia all-rounder)

Warner was named captain in place of the injured Rishabh Pant after a car crash that has kept the dangerous big-hitter out of action since December

Key Indian players: Kuldeep Yadav (left-arm wrist spinner) and Axar Patel (bowling all-rounder), who comes into the IPL in red-hot form with his destructive lower-order batting and left-arm spin

IPL record: Runners-up (2020)

Lucknow Super Giants

Captain: KL Rahul

KL Rahul IPL century list: What is KL Rahul highest score in IPL? How many KL  Rahul runs in IPL 2022? - The SportsRush

Top foreign players: Quinton de Kock (South Africa wicketkeeper-batsman), Marcus Stoinis (Australia all-rounder) and Nicholas Pooran (West Indies all-rounder)

The franchise shelled out $1.95 million for Pooran, a finisher who doubles up as a wicketkeeper option.

Key Indian players: Avesh Khan (bowler) and Jaydev Unadkat (fast bowler)

IPL record: Finished third in their IPL debut last year

Gujarat Titans

Captain: Hardik Pandya

After IPL 2022 Win, Birthday Boy Hardik Pandya Sets Sights on T20 World Cup  Glory

Top foreign players: David Miller (South Africa batsman), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan leg-spinner), Kane Williamson (New Zealand batsman)

Williamson joins West Indies fast bowler Odean Smith and Ireland quick Josh Little as the three new overseas recruits this season.

Key Indian players: Shubman Gill (batsman) and Mohammed Shami (fast bowler)

IPL record: Champions on debut (2022)

Punjab Kings

Captain: Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan's whirlwind 70(50)

Top foreign players: Liam Livingstone (England batsman), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa fast bowler), Sam Curran (England all-rounder)

Curran, Player of the Tournament in the T20 World Cup with his death bowling skills, became the most expensive IPL player ever when Punjab paid $2.23 million.

Key Indian players: Shahrukh Khan -- a hard-hitting batsman

IPL record: Runners-up when named Kings XI Punjab (2014)

Rajasthan Royals

Captain: Sanju Samson

IPL 2022: 'Umpire Made His Decision Very Clear And Sticked to it' - RR  Skipper Sanju Samson on No-Ball Controversy

Top foreign players: Jos Buttler (England wicketkeeper-batsman), Trent Boult (New Zealand fast bowler), Shimron Hetmyer (West Indies batsman)

Key Indian players: Yuzvendra Chahal (leg-spinner) and Ravichandran Ashwin (off-spinner)

IPL record: Champions in inaugural edition in 2008 under late Australian great Shane Warne

Kolkata Knight Riders

Captain: Nitish Rana (stand-in for injured Shreyas Iyer)

IPL 2023: 'I Don't Follow Anyone,' Says Confident Nitish Rana On New Role  As Kolkata Knight Riders Captain | Cricket News | Zee News

Top foreign players: Andre Russell (West Indies all-rounder), Sunil Narine (West Indies all-rounder), Tim Southee (New Zealand fast bowler)

Key Indian players: Venkatesh Iyer (all-rounder), Varun Chakravarthy (leg-spinner)

IPL record: Owned by Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan, the team has been champion twice (2012, 2014) and runners-up once (2021)

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Captain: Aiden Markram

Aiden Markram brings up third half-century | IPL 2022 - Cricket Fanatics  Magazine

Top foreign players: Marco Jansen (South Africa bowling all-rounder), Heinrich Klaasen (South Africa batsman), Harry Brook (England batsman)

West Indies great and Sunrisers head coach Brian Lara called Brook "young and exciting" after the 24-year-old was signed by the team for $1.6 million.

Key Indian players: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Seam bowler), Washington Sundar (Spin bowler), Umran Malik (Fast bowler)

IPL record: Champions once (2016)

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Captain: Faf du Plessis

Indian Premier League 2022: Faf du Plessis, In First Match As RCB Captain,  Smashes 88 Against PBKS | Cricket News

Top foreign players: Glenn Maxwell (Australia all-rounder), Reece Topley (England left-arm quick), Josh Hazlewood (Australia fast bowler - doubtful due to achilles injury)

Key Indian players: Virat Kohli (batsman), Mohammed Siraj (fast bowler), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper-batsman)

IPL record: Runners-up three times (2009, 2011, 2016)