Connect with us

New Zealand-Sri Lanka Series

Latham named captain in ODI series against Sri Lanka



Photo: Tom Latham

|| CF DESK ||

New Zealand announced a new-look side for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, starting March 25.

New Zealand will be without ODI regular captain Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner. Tom Latham has been handed the captaincy for the ODIs.

Finn Allen, Lockie Ferguson and Glenn Phillips will also be released from the squad after the first ODI to travel to India for the IPL. 

Henry Nicholls, Mark Chapman and Ben Lister will replace the IPL  in the squad from the second ODI onwards. The series will also witness the returns of Will Young and Tom Blundell to the ODI setup.

 Daryl Mitchell, Ish Sodhi and Michael Bracewell are also available for all the three ODIs. 

"It’s always exciting as a coach to have new players in the environment and to have players putting their hands up to be selected again in a particular format," 

"We are set to play 16 white ball matches between now and the start of May so there will be a number of chances for players to test themselves in familiar and unfamiliar conditions," he added.

The three matches will be played between March 25 and 31 in Auckland, Christchurch and Hamilton. 

New Zealand squad

Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen (ODI 1), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (ODI 2 & 3), Lockie Ferguson (ODI 1), Matt Henry, Ben Lister (ODI 2 & 3), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls (ODI 2 & 3), Glenn Phillips (ODI 1), Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young.