Connect with us

Pakistan- Afghanistan Series

Shadab to lead in Afghanistan T20I series



Photo: Shadab Khan

|| CF DESK ||

A fifteen-person squad for Pakistan's three-match T20I series against Afghanistan in Sharjah has been released.

Shadab Khan will take over as captain of the national team in place of Babar Azam, who has been given a break.

On Sunday, Babar, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Afridi, and Fakhar Zaman were contacted by the chairman of the PCB Management Committee, Najam Sethi, and told that they would receive rest.

Additionally given some downtime to manage his workload, Haris Rauf.

The workload of the players worries the board. Therefore, the board views this as a crucial choice, especially in light of the T20 World Cup in 2024.

Last week, Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) jointly agreed to make slight tweaks to the itinerary of Afghanistan’s home three-match T20I series against Pakistan.

The start of the series was brought forward by a day and will now start on March 24, with the last two games to be played on March 26 and 27 in Sharjah, UAE.

SQUAD: Shadab Khan (C), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan.

Reserves: Haseebullah, Usama Mir, Abrar Ahmed