Connect with us

BPL 2023

Defending champions Comilla march to yet another BPL Final



Photo: Cricfrenzy

|| CF DESK ||

Defending champions Comilla Victorians secured yet another Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Final after beating Sylhet Strikers by four wickets in the first Qualifier in Mirpur Sunday.

Comilla's tenth straight victory puts them in the final on February 16 against the winner of the second Qualifier between Sylhet Strikers and Rangpur Riders.

Tanvir Islam, Andre Russel, and Mustafizur Rahman each took two wickets to help defending champion Comilla dismiss Sylhet for a meager total of 125.

Sylhet’s Najmul Hossain Shanto top-scored with a 29-ball 38, and captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza smashed two sixes and two fours after pinch-hitting his way up the order.

Mushfiqur Rahim looked good for his 22-ball 29 but that wasn’t enough and get bowled out for 125 with 17 balls remaining.

In response, Tanzim Hasan Sakib got Comilla opener Sunil Narine’s wicket after he took charge of Sylhet bowlers and scored an 18-ball 31 with four sixes and three fours to set the tone for the chase.

Russell scored 15 runs off 10 balls to cap the innings and Mosaddek scored a steady run-per-ball 27 to advance Comilla to a second straight BPL final. Rubel Hossain of Sylhet took three wickets for 33 runs.