Connect with us

Bangladesh-India Series

Mominul misses ton as Bangladesh 227 all out on Day 1



Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

India scored 19 runs without losing any wickets at stumps in reply to Bangladesh's 227 in their first innings on the opening day of the second Test against India at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on Thursday.

KL Rahul and Shubman Gill were batting on 3 and 14 runs respectively at the close of the day.

Umesh Yadav and Ravichandran Ashwin scalped four wickets apiece to bundle Bangladesh within the third session of the first day while Jaydev Unadkat picked up a couple of wickets on his Test return after 12 years.

Mominul Haque starred with a half-century on his Test return but failed to convert it to a century as he was removed on 84 by Ashwin. The left-handed batter faced 157 balls to score 84 which featured 12 boundaries and a six.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz paired with Mominul to add a 41-run stand in the middle which helped Bangladesh to cross the 200-run mark. Following the dismissal of Miraz on 15, Bangladesh lost wickets in quick succession and eventually set 227 on the scoreboard.

Shakib al Hasan (16), Mushfiqur Rahim (26), and Liton Das (25) played brief innings as Bangladesh kept losing wickets at a regular pattern in the second session. 

Opting to bat first, the openers accumulated a 39-run stand before Zakir Hasan departed on 15 runs off Unadkat and Najmul Hossain Shanto fell trapped into an LBW off Ashwin on 24 as Bangladesh ended the morning session on 82-2.


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Najmul Hossain Shanto, Zakir Hasan, Mominul Haque, Litton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Nurul Hasan(w), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed


India (Playing XI): KL Rahul(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj