Connect with us


Dipu hits ton as North and South march to BCL final 



Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Shahadat Hossain Dipu's century and Mahmudullah Riyad's 96 powered BCB North Zone to reach the final of the Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) at BKSP-3 Ground, Savar.

Meanwhile, South Zone defeated Islami Bank East Zone by 6 wickets at BKSP-4, as they are set to face BCB South Zone in the BCL Final.

North vs Central Zone

Chasing modest target of 229 runs, North Zone got off to a stuttering start before Mahmudullah and Dipu put together a 181-run fourth-wicket rescue act.

Dipu scored 101 runs off 151 runs which featured seven 4’s and two sixes before getting dismissed by Mominul Haque. Mahmudullah followed him back a couple of overs later failed to convert his 96-run innings to century. 

Then Shamim Patwary registered the winning run for North Zone. 

Asked to bat first, Central Zone managed to put 228-8 on the board after 50 overs. Mohammad Mithun was the highest run-getter as he scored 121 in 114 balls with 10 fours and 6 sixes.

East vs South Zone

South Zone's Naim Sheikh played an innings of 82 off 93 to thump East Zone by six wickets.

Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain and Towhid Hridoy played brief innings of 26, 23 and 20 runs to sail the to the port of the victory. 

After being invited to bat first, East Zone found themselves in trouble after losing four wickets for 48 runs. They kept losing wickets in quick succession and eventually got crumbled on 170 runs.

Mushfiqur Rahim played single-handedly to score 68 runs facing 111 balls aided by four boundaries and a six. 

Shoriful Isalm and Kamrul Islam Rabbi picked up three wickets each and Nasum Ahmed scalped two for South Zone.