Connect with us

T20 World Cup

UAE name T20 WC squad



Photo: Courtesy

|| ICC ||

UAE named their 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup with their most capped player Rohan Mustafa's absence a major talking point.

Mustafa wasn't named in UAE's ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 squad that will be led by CP Rizwan. The veteran 33-year-old had played as recently as last month for UAE, but was dropped subsequently from the playing XI during the Asia Cup qualifiers in Oman.

UAE will play Bangladesh Cricket in a two-match T20I series, starting 25 September. They belong to Group A in the T20 World Cup and will begin their campaign in Australia on 16 October by taking on the Netherlands. Sri Lanka and Namibia are the other two teams in their group.

T20 World Cup squad: CP Rizwan (c), Vriitya Aravind (vc), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Waseem, Basil Hameed, Aryan Lakra, Zawar Farid, Kashif Daud, Karthik Meiyappan, Ahmed Raza, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Alishan Sharafu, and Aayan Khan.

Reserves: Sultan Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Vishnu Sukumaran, Adithya Shetty, Sanchit Sharma