Connect with us

ICC T20I World Cup

Bumrah returns as India announce squad for T20 WC



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

India announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, with pacer Jasprit Bumrah making his return from injury.

The squad was, however, missing all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who sustained an injury during the Asia Cup. 

Along with Bumrah, fellow bowler Harshal Patel returned to the squad after missing the Asia Cup due to a side strain.The other two pacers in the team are Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, as well as all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

The main spinners are R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Axar Patel, with the latter seemingly replacing Jadeja in the squad. The batting lineup includes skipper Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Dinesh Karthik, among others.

Mohammed Shami has been nominated a standby player, along with Deepak Chahar, a wrist spinner Ravi Bishnoi and batter Shreyas Iyer.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar