Connect with us


Madhya Pradesh clinch their maiden Ranji Trophy



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Madhya Pradesh won their first title of Ranji on Sunday, upsetting giants Mumbai by six wickets. Madhya Pradesh needed 108 runs to win the title and used Shubham Sharma's 30 and Rajat Patidar's unbroken 30 to attain the target in the second session.

Sharma and Patidar, along with Yash Dubey, had also scored centuries in the first innings. Kumar Kartikeya took four wickets with the ball as Madhya Pradesh bowled Mumbai out for 269 on Day 5.

Suved Parkar of Mumbai hit 51 off 58 balls, while Sarfaraz Khan added 45, but Mumbai lost wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 269 in the first session.

Kartikeya took four wickets, while Gaurav Yadav and Parth Sahani each took two.

Mumbai had put on a fast batting display in their second innings the day before, reaching 113 for two at stumps after 22 overs.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh took a significant 162-run lead in the first innings thanks to Rajat Patidar's 122 and Saransh Jain's 57.

MP resumed their innings with three wickets behind at 368, with Patidar unbeaten on 67 and skipper Aditya Shrivastava playing at 11.

Patidar went on to hit 122 off 219 balls, including 20 fours. Saransh Jain eventually frustrated Mumbai bowlers by smashing a fifty.

Brief Scroe 

Madhya Pradesh 536 (Dubey 133, Patidar 122, Shubham 116, Mulani 5-173) and 108 for 4 (Mantri 37, Patidar 30*) beat Mumbai 374 (Sarfaraz 134, Jaiswal 78, Yadav 4-106) and 269 (Parkar 51, Sarfaraz 45, Kartikeya 4-98) by six wickets