Connect with us

India- Ireland Series

India name Pandya as captain for Ireland T20Is



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

India have named a strong 17-member squad for the two-match T20I series against Ireland, with Hardik Pandya set to captain the side for the first time.

Pandya, who led Gujarat Titans to the IPL 2022 title to boost his captaincy credentials, has been handed the reins of the Indian side for their two-match series in Ireland, starting in Malahide on 26 June.

Ireland also have named a 14-member squad for the upcoming two-match T20I series to be played in Malahide later this month.

Uncapped Stephen Doheny and Conor Olphert, who were recently handed retainer contracts by Cricket Ireland, have earned call-ups for the two T20Is against India, on the back of their impressive performances in the domestic circuit.

India Squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

Ireland Squad: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.