Connect with us

UAE T20 League

Knight Riders Group acquires Abu Dhabi franchise in UAE T20 League



Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

The Knight Riders Group has acquired the rights to own the Abu Dhabi franchise and will set up as Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (ADKR) as an integral part of the flagship event.

This will be the fourth franchise owned by the group, having established the successful Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 and the Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) in 2015.

It has also acquired a team in Major League Cricket (MLC) in the USA where it will set up the Los Angeles franchise.

Commenting on the long-term agreement, Shahrukh Khan said: "For several years now, we have been expanding the Knight Riders brand globally and closely watching the potential for T20 cricket in the UAE. We are excited about becoming part of UAE’s T20 League, which no doubt will become hugely successful,”

Venky Mysore, CEO of Kolkata Knight Riders, said: "We feel fortunate to have been consistently recognized as a global brand in T20 cricket. As T20 cricket expands around the world, we are flattered by the regular invitations to play a major role in growing the sport across the world. We have had a keen interest in the developments in the UAE and our expansion is consistent with our long-term strategy".
The UAE league comprises 34 matches, it was originally meant to be played in the February-March bracket, but the Emirates Cricket Board remains confident it will host the inaugural edition of the league in 2022.