Connect with us


Rana snatches victory from Khulna





Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

Fortune Barishal's late show secure a 17-run win over Khulna Tigers in the ongoing BPL at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram on Saturday.

Despite Mushfiqur Rahim's cautious batting, Khulna managed to score 124 losing all wickets while chasing 142 runs. Mehedi Hasan Rana was the pick of the bowling attack as he took four wickets for 17 runs in his three overs.

After dismissing set batter Yasir Ali Rabbi on 23 off 20, Rana took three more wickets in the 19th over. He removed Farhad Reza (0) and took back to back wicket of Sharifullah (1), Mushfiqur Rahim (40) in the last two delivery of the over.

Mushfiqur scored 40 in 36 balls, while Thisara Perera played a cameo innings of 19 off 9 balls, hitting one four and two sixes.

Apart from Rana, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Jake Lintott took two wickets each for Barishal.

Earlier, Khulna won the toss and opted to field first. Openers made a brisk start, Chris Gayle smashed 45 off 34 which featured 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Lintott, who came to open for Barishal was bowled by Sharifullah, he returned for 11 off 6.

Then, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Towhid Hridoy played short innings of 19 and 23 runs in the middle. Barishal kept losing wickets in quick successions and eventually muster 141 losing 9 wickets in 20 overs.

Kamrul Islam, Perera and Reza bagged two wickets each for Khulna.