Connect with us

Independence Cup

Central Zone crowned champions of Independence Cup





Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

Al Amin's half-century helped Walton Central Zone to become the champions of the Independence Cup by knocking off BCB South Zone by six wickets in a low-scoring final at Sylhet International Stadium on Saturday.

Al Amin smashed 53 off 69 deliveries which featured six boundaries with Mosaddek Hossain Saikat (33) registering an 88-run partnership. Their unbeaten knocks guided the team to win the first ODI edition of the Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL).

For South, Nasum Ahmed was the pick of the bowling attack, he finished with 3 from his 10 overs conceding 32 runs.

In chase of a mediocre target of 164, the openers made a decent start for the Central Zone. Mizanur Rahman hit 39 off 53 balls with 5 fours and two six to add 65 runs for the opening partnership with Soumya Sarkar (21).

Earlier, South Zone was bundled up for 163 in 48.5 overs after being invited to bat first.

Despite a good start by the openers Pinak Ghosh (35) and Anamul Haque Bijoy (20) the South Zone failed to maintain the momentum. They continued to lose wickets in quick successions as the Central's bowlers dominated with the ball.

Nahidul Islam played a knock of 31 off 48 in the middle while the others failed to cross the 20-run mark. 

Mosaddek, Nazmul Islam Apu, Soumya, Hasan Murad, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury took two wickets each for the South.