Connect with us

Bangladesh- New Zealand Series

BCB thinking about additional bonuses for Kiwi hunt





Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh have a history of defeating New Zealand in one-day internationals as there's also the case of whitewashing's success. Bangladesh also defeated New Zealand in a T20I series at home late last year.

However, in the Test format, Bangladesh had no chance before the current series, Bangladesh lost in 12 of the 15 Tests. All the three matches drawn were on home soil.

This time, Bangladesh has changed its fate on New Zealand's turf. After five days of thrilling cricket, Mominul's squad overcame New Zealand by 8 wickets. This is Bangladesh's first win in the World Test Championship and against New Zealand.

For this historic triumph, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) is considering offering extra bonuses to cricketers at the end of the series. Jalal Yunus, the head of the BCB's Cricket Operations Committee, revealed this on Wednesday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

Cricketers receive bonuses for winning any international match. Following the remarkable triumph against the Kiwis, the BCB is considering boosting this incentive. According to Jalal Yunus.

"The president of the board talked to the cricketers and the team management. Everyone wanted a bonus. There will be bonuses, they will get bonuses for winning the match. That's normal. We will discuss at the end of the series whether there will be any additional bonus," Jalal said.

"Bangladesh's win over New Zealand is a great achievement", said the chairman of the Cricket Operations Committee, "The trauma that the team went through did not do them well in the Pakistan series after the World Cup. Going to New Zealand and dropping this team performance is great. I thank those who played on the field. This is the achievement of the cricketers, the achievement of the team management," he added.

Moreover, Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina also congratulated the national cricket team for their historic win in Mount Maunganui.