Connect with us


BCB announces list of 406 foreign cricketers for BPL players' draft





Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 2022 player draft is scheduled to be held on December 27. Meanwhile, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has released the list of 406 foreign players for the upcoming event.

There are about 45 Pakistan cricketers enlisted in the draft with experienced cricketers like Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Irfan and Junaid Khan who have appeared in the previous editions of BPL.

The list includes Haris Sohail, Mohammad Asad Afridi, Mohammad Irfan, Usman Shinwari, Abid Ali, Akif Javed, Fawad Alam, Imam ul Haq, Junaid Khan, Yasir Shah, Abrar Ahmed, Akhtar Shah, Ali Imran, Ali Shafiq and many more.

Apart from Pakistan, four Indian cricketers have been named in the draft. They are Gaurav Sharma, Ishan Malhotra, Bipul Sharma, Sudip Tyagi. Malaysia's Harinderjit Singh, Syed Aziz, Birandeep Singh and France's Jobaid Ahmed.

Namibian cricketers include Gerard Erasmus and Craig Williams. Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga, England's Ben Foakes and Afghanistan's Rahmanullah Gurbaz are also in the lists of foreign cricketers. 

The six-team-based marquee event will begin on January 21. The final of the tournament is scheduled on 18 February.

Dhaka, Sylhet, Khulna, Barisal, Chattogram and Cumilla respectively will take part in the 34-match-long tournament which will be staged in Dhaka, Chattogram and Sylhet.

The tournament will be held in a double round-robin format followed by three playoffs and a final and the winning team will take home Tk one crore while the runners-up will win prize money of Tk 50 lakh.