Connect with us

Women's Cricket World Cup

Women's WC 2022 schedule announced





Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday announced the updated schedule of the 2022 Women's Cricket World Cup, which will get underway on March 4, next year at the Bay Oval in Tauranga.

Hosts New Zealand will face the West Indies in the first match on March 4, at the Bay Oval in Tauranga. While, Defending champions England will then take on Australia the following day at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

Bangladesh will start the World Cup campaign with a match against South Africa on March 5.

A total of eight teams will compete in 31 matches that will be staged across 31 days.

Australia, England, South Africa and India qualified for the event on the basis of their position in ICC Women's Championship 2017-20 while New Zealand automatically qualified as hosts.

On the basis of the ODI Team Rankings, Bangladesh, Pakistan and West Indies were the final three teams to book their berths for the World Cup after 2021 Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier was called off due to a Covid-related uncertainty.

The tournament will initially be played in a league format with all eight teams playing each other once. The top four teams will then qualify for the semi-finals.