Connect with us

Bangladesh-New Zealand Series

Shakib included as BCB announces squad for NZ Test series





Photo: AFP

|| CF DESK ||

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced an 18-member squad for the New Zealand Test series 2021-22.

Bangladesh will face the hosts in a two-match Test series which will be a part of the 2021-2023 cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

Shakib Al Hasan, who wanted to opt out of the upcoming tour but BCB included him in the squad as they haven't received any official letter or request from the allrounder. 

"He (Shakib) has not said anything officially (desire to opt out), but yes, he unofficially informed us. I asked him to send an official letter and then we will decide. We need to know why he wants to skip the tour," said BCB President Nazmul Hassan Papon on Saturday regarding Shakib.

“We do not have Tamim [Iqbal] in the team [due to injury]. Shakib is not only a batter – he does the bowling too. The team combination gets better when he plays and there is no replacement of him,” the BCB boss added.

Fast bowler Shoriful Islam has returned to the side after missing out on the Pakistan series due to injury. Opener Saif Hassan and off-spinner Nayeem Hasan have been excluded from the squad.

The Bangladesh team will leave for New Zealand on December 9 for the series with the Tests scheduled in Tauranga and Christchurch.

The first Test will be played from January 1 while the second game will be staged from January 9 in Christchurch.

Bangladesh in the last five Test matches against New Zealand has lost four with the other ending in a draw.

The Kiwis remained unbeaten in 32 international games in New Zealand since 2001.


Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Md Naim Sheikh