Connect with us

Women's World Cup

Tigresses reach Dhaka after securing WC spot





Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh women’s cricket team have arrived in Dhaka after the Women’s World Cup qualifiers campaign which was halted due to Covid-19 fears.

The national team directly headed to the hotel after arriving at the airport to observe mandatory quarantine.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Saturday called off the ongoing World Cup Qualifiers 2021 in Harare due to the introduction of travel restrictions following the breakout of a new Covid-19 variant in Southern Africa.

Bangladesh were on top of Group B with wins over Pakistan and USA, while the West Indies topped Group A after beating Ireland.

The teams who have qualified for the World Cup 2022 to be held from March 4 to April 3 are Australia, England, India, South Africa, New Zealand (hosts), Pakistan, the West Indies and Bangladesh.

The number of teams in the third cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship (from 2022-2025) has been increased from eight to 10, and these teams will be Australia, England, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Ireland.