Connect with us


ICC appoints Ganguly as Chairman of Men's Cricket Committee





Photo: AFP

|| CF DESK ||

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has been appointed as the chairman of ICC Men’s Cricket Committee after Anil Kumble’s nine-year term, ended this month.

The decision was taken at the International Cricket Council (ICC) Board Meeting in Dubai on Wednesday.

ICC Chair Greg Barclay in an official release said: "I am delighted to welcome Sourav to the position of Chair of the ICC Men's Cricket Committee. His experience as one of the world's best players and latterly as an administrator will help us shape our cricketing decisions moving forward.

“I would also like to thank Anil for his outstanding leadership over the last nine years which has included improving the international game through more regular and consistent application of DRS and a robust process for addressing suspect bowling actions."

The ICC Board also approved the continuation of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) in its current form of a nine-team league over a two-year period with a final between the top two teams at the conclusion.

Following the expansion of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup to a 14-team event in the next cycle (2027), the Board has accepted a recommendation from the Chief Executives' Committee (CEC) that the primary avenue for qualification for the event is based on rankings at a pre-determined cutoff date with the 10 highest-ranked teams on the Men's ODI Rankings qualifying automatically, and the remainder being determined via a global qualifier.