Connect with us

Bangladesh-Pakistan series

Mushfiq dropped, Akbar named in 16-men squad for Pakistan T20Is





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday has announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming Pakistan T20I series. 

Wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim has been rested from the T20I series in order to focus on the upcoming two-match test series, while Soumya Sarkar and Liton Kumar Das have been excluded. 

Shakib will miss the home series against Pakistan due to a hamstring injury that he incurred while fielding in a match during T20 World Cup. 

Four fresh faces with U-19 World Cup-winning captain Akbar Ali, Shohidul Islam, Saif Hassan and Yasir Ali Rabbi have earned their maiden call up in the squad.

Bangladesh had defeated the Pakistan team which was back in April-May 2015 and clean-swept them in the three-ODI series, defeated them in the lone T20 and drew a Test against them for the first time.

Bangladesh and Pakistan will play their first T20I on November 19 at Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. The second and third Twenty20 Internationals will be held on November 20 and 22.

It will be followed by two Tests at the Chattogram’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium and Mirpur starting from November 26 and December 4 respectively.


Mohammad Naim, Saif Hassan, Mahmudullah Riyad (C), Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Shohidul Islam, Akbar Ali, Shamim Patwary, Mustafizur Rahman, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Aminul Islam Biplob, Yasir Ali Rabbi.