Connect with us

India-New Zealand series

Rahane to lead as India announce squad for Tests against NZ





Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday has announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against New Zealand.

Ajinkya Rahane will lead India in the Kanpur Test as Virat Kohli has been rested. Ace batsman Cheteshwar Pujara has been named the vice-captain for the first Test.

Rohit Sharma will lead the side in the three T20Is, will skip the entire series. The board has also confirmed that Kohli will join the squad for the 2nd Test in Mumbai and will lead the team.

In the absence of Pant, Wriddhiman Saha is expected to don the wicketkeeping gloves for the hosts.

The series will be the first in the longest format between the two sides since they met in the June final of the inaugural World Test Championship, which was won by New Zealand.

India’s Test squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna