Connect with us


Eight Bangladeshi cricketers named in LPL player draft



Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Eight Bangladesh cricketers have been named in the Lanka Premier League (LPL) player draft, which is slated to begin on October 29.

Bangladesh T20 World Cup captain Mahmudullah Riyad, Mahedi Hasan, Sohag Gazi, Shofiul Islam, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Imrul Kayes and Ebadot Hossain have registered for the draft.

In its inaugural season, the LPL had five teams. However, Colombo Kings and Dambulla Vikings were terminated due to financial issues. In the following month, another team, Jaffna Stallions were also terminated. Dambulla got new owners and were renamed Dambulla Giants. Jaffna too was renamed as Jaffna Kings.

The LPL was expected to take place in the month of July-August, but due to the non-availability of foreign players, the tournament had to be postponed.

The tournament will now start on December 4 with 23 games overall, and all the games will take place in the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

LPL will see each team playing 8 games in the league stages, and this will be 3 knockout games, with the finals to be held on December 23.