Connect with us

T20 World Cup

T20 WC winners to be awarded a prize money of $1.6m





Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

The winners of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in 2021 will get $1.6 million in prize money, while the runners-up will receive $800,000. Each of the two losing semi-finalists will get $400,000 in prize money.

The tournament will be funded with a total of $5.6 million, which will be split evenly among the 16 teams.

The ICC will also continue to offer a bonus money for each win during the Super 12 stage of the event, as it did in the previous edition. The winners of each of the 30 matches in the Super 12 stage will each receive $40,000, for a total prize pool of $1,200,000.

The teams that are eliminated in the Super 12 stage will receive $70,000 each, for a total of $560,000.

The same system is in place to reward teams for their Round 1 triumphs, with each club receiving $40,000 for each of the 12 matches in the stage, for a total of $480,000. From a total prize fund of $160,000, the four teams who are eliminated in round one will receive $40,000 each.

Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka are the eight teams competing in Round 1.

Meanwhile, the eight confirmed teams for the Super 12 stage of the competition in the UAE and Oman are Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies.

Apart from the prize money for the 2021 edition of the tournament, the ICC also announced a drinks break which will take place during each and every match. The duration of the break will of 2 minutes and 30 seconds and will take place during the halfway mark of each innings.