Connect with us

Srilanka Cricket

Sri Lanka announces squad for the T20 WC





Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Sri Lanka announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup which will be played in UAE and Oman from 17th October to 14th November 2021.

The squad was approved by the Minister of Youth and Sports Honorable Namal Rajapaksa.

The squad will be led by Dasun Shanaka as the team begin their campaign on 18 October against Namibia in Abu Dhabi in Group A of the First Round, where they have also drawn Ireland and the Netherlands.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera, who had missed India and the ongoing South Africa series, made a comeback to the side while experienced campaigner Dinesh Chandimal held on to his place after some good performances against the Proteas.

Mystery spinner Theekshana is joined by left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama, the only uncapped player in the squad.

Veteran seamer Nuwan Pradeep has been included as part of a pace attack that includes Dushmantha Chameera and all-rounders Chamika Karunaratne and Lahiru Madushanka.


Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana


Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga